Bend The Future “Sounds So Wrong”

Artist: Bend The Future
Title: Sounds So Wrong
Format: LP, CD, Digital
Label: Tonzonen Records
Distribution: Soulfood Music
Genre: Progressive/ Jazz-Rock
Release Date: 19/05/2023

The Grenoble quintet’s spectacular third album is all about stylish surprises, elegant harmonies shaped by variety, and passion. What Bend The Future offers is not a jazz-rock album that transcends the genre, but an unforgettable adventure that expands over thousands of kilometers.

Formed in Grenoble, France almost exactly four years ago, Bend The Future hits hard once again with their third studio album Sounds So Wrong. Emerging from the fusion of progressive rock and contemporary jazz with Eastern European influences, the band had already established their sound with their first two records, particularly with their sophomore album Without Notice released via Tonzonen Records. Utterly distinct from every other band on the label in terms of sound, the band continues to showcase their fearless and ingenious approach in the new album, SSW. Evolving anew, Bend The Futurebuilds up on their sound, stoically moves forward along their distinctive path, and boggles minds in the process.

The French band adds featuring string quartet sections and jazz vocals to their arsenal, coloring their soundscape with a shimmering touch. Tracks such as Somewhere BeneathFall Apart, and Jemlematür display the brave new direction the band is headed, while tunes such as Desert Eagle and Vast bridge the earlier work of the band with the new album. In terms of the track listing, the two sides of the LP have a similar approach to one of the band’s many influences: Opeth’s Deliverance and Damnation. Side A of Sounds So Wrong is pretty heavy and dark, including screaming vocals, while the second part portrays landscapes of Anatolian, French, and Portuguese lands.

Just like the band’s previous album Without Notice, the new album was recorded in Octavox Studio in Grenoble and mixed by Matthieu Budin and Can Yıldırım (band’s guitars and vocals). The mastering was clinically performed by the Eroc, and the artworks were designed by Egemen Kırkağaç, the band’s long-time designer.

01. Desert Eagle   
02. Jemlematür   
03. Fall Apart   
04. Somewhere Beneath   
05. Vast   
06. Miniature II               
07. Those Little Things   
08. Not Even    
09. Now Is The Moment


Download press assets here